Navigate in Hochbahn

Main navigation

A look back: The history of the Saarlandstraße stop

Ein historisches Foto der U3-Haltestelle Saarlandstraße

Originally opened in 1912 as ‘Flurstraße’, it later became an important transport hub. It was renamed ‘Stadtpark’ in 1924, followed by an extensive extension in 1927 according to the plans of architect Walter Puritz. This included a second platform and a spacious entrance building. A unique feature of the HOCHBAHN network to this day is that each platform can only serve one direction of travel. In 1970, the station was given its final name ‘Saarlandstraße’ to avoid confusion with the S-Bahn station of the same name. We last built at the stop in 2012 and took the first steps towards accessibility at that time.

Questions or concerns about the project? Please get in touch!

Either here via our contact form or by calling our HOCHBAHN customer dialogue on 040/32 88-27 23.